Organizing Committee

Nadir Weibel, PhD, is an Associate Research Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at UC San Diego, a Research Health Science Specialist at the VA San Diego Health System, and he is one of the faculty of the UCSD Design Lab. His work on Human-Centered and Ubiquitous Computing is situated at the intersection of computer science, design, and the health sciences. With his students he develops methods, designs, and implements prototypes, and evaluates the effectiveness of pervasive sensing and interactive multimodal physical-digital systems such as depth-cameras, eye-tracking, augmented reality, wearable and ubiquitous computing, to introduce them as a support for Health and Healthcare. Dr. Weibel is engaged and actively publishing in the Human-Computer Interaction, Ubiquitous Computing and Pervasive Health communities. He is on the Steering Committee for WISH, he was the Program Chair of the 2018 Pervasive Health International Conference and the General Chair in 2016. He has been engaged with CHI for many years, both as an author, as part of the Program Committee as an Associate Chair, and has been on the CHI organizing committee as Workshop Chair. Finally, Dr. Weibel is also an associated editor of the ACM Journal on Interactive, Mobile, Wearable and Ubiquitous Technologies (IMWUT). He received his Ph.D. in Computer Science in 2009 from ETH Zurich (Switzerland).

Kim Unertl, PhD, is an Assistant Professor of Biomedical Informatics at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. Her research is situated at the intersection of health informatics, sociotechnical systems, and human factors engineering. Her primary research interests are in technology-facilitated collaboration and teamwork across healthcare contexts, including homes, schools, and other community settings. Special areas of emphasis in her work include management of chronic diseases and incorporating design approaches such as community-based participatory design. Dr. Unertl is on the Steering Committee for WIS, is the Chair-Elect of the AMIA People and Organizational Issues Working Group, and a member of the AMIA Diana Forsythe Award Committee. She is a member of the editorial board of the Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association (JAMIA) and serves on the AMIA Education Committee and the Women in AMIA Pipeline Subcommittee. In addition to her research, Dr. Unertl is extensively involved in educational outreach and mentoring in biomedical informatics. She serves as the co-director of the AMIA High School Scholars Program and is director of the Vanderbilt Summer Biomedical Informatics Program, which includes an NSF-funded Research Experience for Undergraduates site.

Susanne Boll, Dr. techn., is a full professor of Media Informatics and Multimedia Systems at the Department of Computing Science of the University of Oldenburg, Germany. She is also a member of the executive board of the OFFIS–Institute for Information Technology in Oldenburg, an associated research institute of the University of Oldenburg. Dr. Boll received her doctorate with distinction from the Technical University of Vienna, Austria in 2001, and her diploma degree with distinction in Computer Science from the Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany, in 1996. She is an active researcher in the field of interactive systems with a strong application area in the field of health care and personal health. Dr. Boll works in the field of human-computer interaction (HCI), specifically in pervasive user interfaces, mobile, and wearable interactive systems, and her scientific results have been published in extremely competitive peer-reviewed international conferences such as CHI, and, MobileHCI as well as internationally recognized journals. She has been co-chairing PervasiveHealth in 2014, she was co-organizer of several ACM SIGMM Multimedia Health Workshops in 2016-2018, and the host of the German National Cluster Conference on “Innovation in Care” in 2018.

Steering Committee

  • Julie Kientz, University of Washington
  • Lena Mamykina, Columbia University
  • Jessica Ancker, Weill Cornell Medical College
  • Suzanne Bakken, Columbia University
  • Susanne Boll, University of Oldenburg
  • Yunan Chen, University of California Irvine
  • Gavin Doherty, Trinity College Dublin
  • Andrea Grimes Parker, Northeastern University
  • Jina Huh-Yoo, Michigan State University
  • Gabriela Marcu, Drexel University
  • Jochen Meyer,
  • Andrew Miller, Indiana University
  • Elizabeth Mynatt, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Philip Payne, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Wanda Pratt, University of Washington
  • Madhu Reddy, Northwestern University
  • Katie Siek, Indiana University
  • Donna Spruijt-Metz, University of Southern California
  • Tammy Toscos, Parkview Health
  • Kim Unertl, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
  • Tiffany Veinot, University of Michigan
  • Nadir Weibel, University of California, San Diego
  • Lauren Wilcox, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Danny Wu, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
  • Sun Young Park, University of Michigan
  • Kai Zheng, University of California Irvine